China… We need to talk.

As of late, all we seem to hear about is China hacking. Forbes. Anthem Healthcare. Microsoft. Why is it that the citizens of China are so naughty and malicious on the internet?

As the founder of a US based startup Commando.io, I just looked through all of our paying customers, and not a single one is based out of China. Yet, a quick grep of our logs revealed that most attacks against Commando.io originated from Chinese IP addresses.

I know it can be dangerous to paint with broad strokes, but the fact that no revenue comes from China, only attacks, and potential compromise, leads me to seriously consider geoip blocking all requests from China.

Why is it that China is such a bad participant on the internet?

 
201
Kudos
 
201
Kudos

Now read this

Stripe put my startup out of business before I launched

UPDATE: I launched a new startup Elastic Byte in January that helps companies plan, build, and manage cloud infrastructure and DevOps. Contact us if that sounds interesting. For the last four months I’ve been traveling the world as a... Continue →